Texas Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick Announces Committee Appointments

Due to the impending retirement of three Texas senators, Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick announced on March 23 the appointments of their replacements to serve on committees during the interim leading up to the 88th Legislative Session.

According to Patrick's office:

  • Sen. Bryan Hughes, R-Tyler, is taking the place of Sen. Larry Taylor, R-Friendswood, on the Senate Committee on Finance.
  • Sen. Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa, D-McAllen, is serving as Vice-Chair of the Senate Committee on Finance in place of Sen. Eddie Lucio, Jr., D-Brownsville.
  • Sen. Nathan Johnson, D-Dallas, is replacing Sen. Lucio, Jr., who also served on the Sunset Advisory Commission.

Patrick is also replacing Sen. Brian Birdwell, R-Granbury, with Sen. Charles Perry, R-Lubbock, on the Sunset Advisory Commission.The Commission helps determine which state agencies will expire or stay active. This year, agencies under review include the Texas Economic Development and Tourism Office, the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, the Texas Juvenile Justice Department, and the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement.

Although Birdwell is not retiring, the state lawmaker recently became the Chair of the Senate Committee on Border Security in addition to his existing duty as Chair of the Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Economic Development.

In a news release, Patrick said it is "vital that new committee members are appointed during the interim so that work will continue uninterrupted throughout the 88th Legislative Session."

The Texas Legislature's 87th Regular Session began on Jan. 12 and ended May 31, 2021. The 88th Legislative Session begins on Jan. 10, 2023. For a complete calendar, visit the Legislative Reference Library of Texas.

Follow TEXPERS on FacebookTwitter, and LinkedIn for the latest news about Texas' public pension industry.
Share this post:

Comments on "Texas Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick Announces Committee Appointments"

Comments 0-2 of 0

Please login to comment